State's Best Recognised at 2017 Grand Final Breakfast

Western Australian rugby’s finest have been recognised at the 2017 Grand Final Breakfast at Crown Perth this morning.

Associates fullback and Future Force Foundation member Brendon Owen took out the year’s top honour, recognised as the Pindan Premier Grade’s most valuable player for 2017 and taking out the PG Hampshire Award.

Owen has established himself as one of the brightest talents in Western Australian rugby during the 2017 season, guiding Soaks to their first finals appearance since 2012, picking up the RugbyWA Cup in the process.

The playmaker was destructive at fullback throughout the year, while also showing his class at flyhalf in a sign of versatility. Owen’s pace and attacking flair was crucial to the resurgence of Associates, with many barnstorming runs from the back setting up points for his side.

The Future Force Foundation member amassed 155 points, with six tries, 37 conversions and 17 penalties in his debut Pindan Premier grade season. The South African born outside back finished second overall for points scored, whilst scoring some phenomenal long-range tries for his team and assisting on countless others. Owen’s outstanding season has also seen him included in the Road Safety Perth Spirit squad for the National Rubgy Championship.

The PG Hampshire Award is voted upon by the RugbyWA referees round-by-round on a 3-2-1 basis, with Owen capturing 18 votes, two votes clear of Nedlands’ Terangi Fraser (16), and four clear of Cottesloe’s Charl Nieuwenhuis (14).

Joondalup scrumhalf Johann Louw claimed the ‘Top Point’s Scorer’ for season 2018, accumulating 195 points throughout his campaign. Louw managed seven tries, 41 conversions and 26 penalties in the process to help Joondalup to seventh spot on the table.

Cottesloe number 13 Alistair Haining took out the competition’s ‘Top Try Scorer’, with 14 tries throughout the season, as the Gulls narrowly missed out on a finals berth. Haining’s strength and ball carrying ability was too strong for many defences, with the centre slicing through oppositions at will.

Wests Scarborough’s Jordan Luke was named the Pindan Premier Grade’s  ‘Most Improved Player’, taking on extra responsibility throughout the Boar’s 2017 campaign. Luke was a consistent starter on the wing for Wests, and was selected in the Road Safety Western Force 10s team that travelled to Mauritius for the World Club 10s earlier this year. His 10 tries for the season proved pivotal, as he became a vital role player for the dominant Wests backline.

Wanneroo’s Trilleen Pomare was awarded the ‘Women’s Player of the Year’ after guiding her Wanneroo side to second spot on the table this season. Pomare made her debut for the Wallaroos against Ireland in the at flyhalf last week in the Women’s World Cup to cap off a stellar year. Pomare is one four West Australians in the Wallaroos side, including three Wanneroo Divas.

‘Coach of the Year’ was rewarded to the entire Senior Coaching Team at Palmyra after a phenomenal year throughout all of Pindan Rugby. Their top three grades secured top four finishes, while their Pindan Premier Grade, Reserve Grade and Colts all claimed the minor premiership. The Pally women also managed a top three position to round out an outstanding year for the club.

Wests Scarborough’s young gun backrower Brody Macaskill was awarded the ‘Most Outstanding Colt’ after his breakout season saw selection in the Australian Schoolboys Barbarians team. The Aranmore Catholic College student also captained the Road Safety Western Force schoolboys side, with the future looking bright for the young Boar.

Adrian Blacker was awarded life membership of RugbyWA after more than 35 years of service to the Cottesloe Rugby Club and more than a decade of dedicated service to the Road Safety Western Force, as part of the professional team since the club’s inception.

Repeating their efforts from 2016, Palmyra were crowned Pindan Premiership Champion Club while Southern Lions claimed the Pindan Championship’s top honour for the second straight season.

Kyle Burnett was recognised for his outstanding officiating this season taking out the Referee’s Award.

2016 RugbyWA Awards – Award Recipients

PG Hampshire Award: Brendan Owen (Associates)
Coach Award: Palmyra Senior Coaching Group
Top Try Scorer: Alistair Haining (Cottesloe)
Top Point Scorer: Johann Louw (Joondalup)
Most Improved Player: Jordan Luke (Wests Scarborough)
Best Colt Player (U20): Brody Macaskill (Wests Scarborough)
Sue Roberts Trophy: Trilleen Pomare (Wanneroo)
Referee Award: Kyle Burnett
Life Membership: Adrian Blacker (Cottesloe)
Premiership Club Champions: Palmyra
Championship Club Champions: Southern Lions

PG Hampshire Award – Points Tally

18 – Brendan Owen (Associates)
16 – Terangi Fraser (Nedlands)
14 – Charl Nieuwenhuis (Cottesloe)
13 – Dean Taylor-Menzies (Associates)

PG Hampshire Award – Honour Role

2017 – Brendan Owen (Associates)
2016 – Michael Ruru (Nedlands)
2015 – Daley Harper (Kalamunda)
2014 – Dylan Timu (Perth Bayswater)
2013 – Joe Savage (Palmyra)
2012 – Nick Haining (Cottesloe)
2011 – Anare Koliavu (Palmyra)
2010 – David Cloete (Cottesloe)
2009 – David Cloete (Cottesloe)
2008 – Ryan Tyrrell (Rockingham)
2007 – Nathan Roberts (Nedlands)