Spirit Named for Viking Challenge

The Road Safety Perth Spirit has made four changes to the starting side and added three fresh faces to the bench for Sunday’s clash with the Canberra Vikings in the nation’s capital.

In the only changes to the starting forward pack, Wests Scarborough’s Baxter King will debut at tighthead with Palmyra backrower Onehunga Havili coming into the starting pack at blindside flanker in place of Richard Hardwick.

The Spirit backline has been tweaked from the one that took down the Rising in Round One. Marcel Brache moves into outside centre with Curtis Rona required by the Wallabies. Joondalup playmaker Sheldon Tarawa will make his NRC debut when he runs on in the No.12 jersey while Future Force Foundation member and 2017 PG Hampshire Award winner Brendan Owen will make his NRC debut at fullback.

After outstanding Pindan Premier Grade seasons and impressing in training, talented local players Tevin Ferris (Nedlands), Michael McDonald (Palmyra) and Clay Uyen (UWA) are all in line to make their NRC debuts off the bench.

Perth Spirit Head Coach Kevin Foote says he is excited to see a host of Pindan Premier Grade players run out against a quality Vikings outfit.

“We wanted these club players in the squad because we knew they would get an opportunity so it’s great to see their hard work rewarded,” he said.

“Sheldon Tarawa is one guy that really stands out, he had a fantastic year for Joondalup. Beau and Baxter King were pillars for their clubs and Brendan Owen gets a chance to debut at fullback. Clay Uyen, Mikey McDonald and Tevin Ferris all come onto the bench and they will be pretty excited.

“Canberra has a good team with a lot of Super Rugby experience and travelling to Canberra is always tough. They showed their quality last week to come back and win, they have a good pack and some experienced backs so it will be a good challenge.”

1. Pek Cowan (Wests Scarborough)
2. Anaru Rangi (Nedlands) VC
3. Baxter King (Wests Scarborough)*
4. Richard Arnold (Nedlands)
5. Matt Philip
6. Onehunga Havili (Palmyra)
7. Kane Koteka (Wests Scarborough)
8. Isireli Naisarani
9. Michael Ruru (Nedlands) C
10. Jono Lance (Associates)
11. Chance Peni (Palmyra)
12. Sheldon Tarawa (Joondalup)*
13. Marcel Brache (Perth Bayswater)
14. James Verity-Amm (Nedlands)
15. Brendan Owen (Associates)*

16. Sama Malolo (Wests Scarborough)
17. Mees Erasmus (Palmyra)
18. Beau King (Kalamunda)
19. Ben Grant (Cottesloe)
20. Tevin Ferris (Nedlands)**
21. Michael McDonald (Palmyra)**
22. Ian Prior (Nedlands)
23. Clay Uyen (UWA)**

* Denotes debut
** Denotes possible debut

NRC 2017 – Round Two

Canberra Vikings Road Safety Perth Spirit
Sunday, 10 September. Kick off – 11:00AM AWST
Viking Park, Canberra

Fans can LIVE stream this game HERE or download the FOX SPORTS App.
FOX SPORTS digital subscription can be purchased HERE

It costs $1 for the first month then $4.99 every month and includes:

• NRC LIVE AND UNINTERRUPTED: Watch two NRC matches live each round, exclusive to your subscription

• FULL REPLAYS OF EVERY GAME: Relive every NRC match, available only 12 hours after the final whistle