Lance Locked In Until 2018

The Road Safety Western Force continue to strengthen their side for 2018, with the re-signing of classy flyhalf Jono Lance for next season.

Lance, currently sitting on 49 Super Rugby caps, has played 10 matches for the Force this season before being struck down with a broken hand and will be looking to pick up where he left off against the Rebels in Round 16.

The former Australian Sevens representative says he looks forward to a future in the West and is excited about what this team can achieve.

“I’m really pumped to be staying in Perth,” he said. “The last two years have been really exciting for me, I feel I’ve made Perth my home now and really enjoying the group of guys here, it’s our own little family.”

Lance went on to say that the future of professional rugby in Western Australia is a bright one and looks forward to progressing his career in the Force blue.

“I think you get a good vibe from the crowd and the fans that are out there, and how passionate they are about rugby.

“This is my third team and I can safely say the fans here are as good as you’ll get. They stick around through the tough times, they get behind you when you need it and I know something is building in this team so it’s going to be great when we get to share that with them.”

Road Safety Western Force Attack Coach Shaun Berne says the re-signing of Lance is another quality addition to the 2018 squad.

“Jono adds a lot of experience in a vital position for us. He’s won two Super Rugby titles with two different teams and has a very good understanding of what that takes.”

“He’s a very abrasive defender and prepared to play forward at the line on attack. It’s fantastic that he’s decided to stay with us.”

Name: Jono Lance
Born: 27/06/1990, Canberra, ACT
Position: Flyhalf
Club: Associates
Height: 183cm
Weight: 92kg
Super Rugby Caps: 49
Super Rugby Points: 99
Super Rugby Debut: Round 17 2011 v Waratahs, Sydney
Representative Rugby:
Australian U20s (2010)
Australian Sevens (2010-2011)
Queensland Reds (2011-2013)
NSW Waratahs (2014-2015)
Wallaby XV (2016)