Hodgson Returns for Last Hurrah

Club legend and retiring great Matt Hodgson will start in his famous No.7 jersey against the Waratahs in his final appearance for the Road Safety Western Force at the Force Field (nib Stadium) at 5:45PM on Saturday, 15 July.

Hanging up his boots at the end of the season, Hodgson will earn his 140th Super Rugby cap for the Western Australian club having earned his first in the club’s inaugural match against the Brumbies back in 2006.

In further changes to the side, Tetera Faulkner comes into the starting XV at tighthead prop while Marcel Brache will start on the wing having returned from international duties with the USA Eagles.

In the reserves, Anaru Rangi and Shambeckler Vui come into the 23 while scrumhalf Ian Prior is in line to earn his 50th cap for the Road Safety Western Force when he enters the fray.

Coach Dave Wessels says the team is determined to finish the season strong and send Hodgson out on a winning note.

“Saturday’s game will be special for both ‘Hodgo’ and the club. He’s given everything to the cause over a long career and we hope the Sea of Blue will help us give him the send-off he deserves.”

The Road Safety Western Force will kick off against the Waratahs in the club’s final match of the 2017 Super Rugby season at 5:45PM AWST on Saturday, 15 July.

Click here to get your tickets and be part of the Sea of Blue!

Road Safety Western Force v Waratahs

  1. Pek Cowan
  2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
  3. Tetera Faulkner
  4. Matt Philip
  5. Adam Coleman
  6. Ross Haylett-Petty
  7. Matt Hodgson
  8. Isi Naisarani
  9. Michael Ruru
  10. Peter Grant
  11. Alex Newsome
  12. Bill Meakes
  13. Curtis Rona
  14. Marcel Brache
  15. Dane Haylett-Petty

16. Anaru Rangi
17. Francois van Wyk
18. Shambeckler Vui
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Richard Hardwick
21. Ian Prior
22. Jono Lance
23. James Verity-Amm

Road Safety Western Force v Waratahs
Saturday, 15 July. Kick off 5:45PM AWST
Force Field (nib Stadium)
Click Here for Tickets